12th Judicial District Nominating Fee to Meet Friday

The 12th District Nomination Committee will meet by conference call on Friday, August 20 at 1:30 p.m. to discuss the nomination process to fill the position of District Judge.

The position will be created by Judge Brian Grace’s retirement on October 1st.

The 12th judicial district consists of the counties of Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, and Washington.

Public access

The session is open to the public. Listen:
call 1-877-400-9499; and
Enter conference code 2199381974.


Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to attend the Nominations Committee meeting should notify the ADA Justice Department Coordinator as early as possible:
ADA coordinator
[email protected]
TTY at 711

Participation requirements

Kansas law requires that this district judge:

  • a Lincoln County resident at the time of taking office and during his tenure;

  • a high school, middle school or equivalent graduate; and

  • either a Kansas licensed attorney or able to take a certification exam within 18 months

The nomination committee seeks nominations and then meets to interview the nominees. The interviews are public. The commission will then appoint a district judge.

Term of office

After a one-year term of office, the magistrate must stand for the remaining vote in the next parliamentary election in order to remain in office. In the event of retention, the incumbent will serve for a four-year term.

Nomination Committee

The nomination committee for the 12th judicial district consists of Judge KJ Wall as chairman who is not entitled to vote; Carol Good, Barnard; William Navis, Belleville; Dwight Daniels, Curtis Frasier, and Jerry Harrison, Beloit; Dana Brewer and J. Bradley Lowell, Concordia; Tanner Johnson, Courland; Daniel Metz, Lincoln; Darrell Miller and Roger Rightmeier, Mankato; and Bruce Meyer, Palmer.

Comments are closed.