eighth Judicial District nominating fee interview schedule set

TOPEKA – The 8th Judicial Nomination Commission is convened on August 18 to interview 12 candidates to fill two vacant positions for district judges.

The positions are due to two retirements. Judge Steven Hornbaker, who served in Geary County, retired June 1. Chief Judge Michael Powers will retire on August 20th. His location is in Marion County

The 8th judicial district consists of Dickinson, Geary, Marion, and Morris counties.

Interview schedule

9:30 am
Samantha Angell, lawyer in her own practice

9:50 a.m.
Krista Blaisdell, Geary District Attorney

10:10 am
Keith Collett, District Judge, Dickinson County

10:40 a.m.
Amy Coppola, Geary District Judge

11 clock
Bobby Hiebert, Assistant District Attorney, Geary County

11:20 a.m.
Douglas Jones, District Judge, 5th District

11:40 a.m.
Valorie Leblanc, District Judge, 6th Judicial District

12 o’clock
Jason Oxford, Assistant District Attorney, Geary County

13 o’clock
Susan Robson, attorney in private practice

1:20 p.m.
Britain Stites, City Attorney, Junction City

1:40 p.m.
Laura Viar, Morris County District Attorney

14 o’clock
Jennifer Wyatt, lawyer in her own practice

The commission received an incomplete nomination and will interview that nominee at 2:20 pm if accepted

Public interviews

The nomination committee will meet on Wednesday, August 18, at 9 a.m. to interview the nominees at:

Geary County Courthouse
138 E 8th Street
Crossing city

The interviews are public.

Anyone attending in person must adhere to public health requirements set out in the Supreme Court Administrative Order. This includes answering questions at check-in about symptoms or possible exposure to COVID-19, wearing a face mask around the building, and keeping a physical distance of 6 feet from others.

ADA accommodation

Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to attend the Nominations Committee meeting should notify the ADA Justice Department Coordinator as early as possible, preferably 10 working days prior to the meeting date:

ADA coordinator
[email protected]
TTY at 711

Participation requirements

Candidates for the district judge must be:

● At least 30 years old;

● A Kansas licensed attorney who has served as an attorney, judge, or full-time teacher in a recognized law school for at least five years; and

● Meet the housing requirements specific to the position.

Candidates for the Hornbaker position must be resident in the judicial district at the time of taking office and during the term of office.

Candidates for the Powers position must be residents of Marion County at the time of taking office and during their tenure.

Candidate for governor

The nomination committee will interview the nominees and then select three to five people whose names will be presented to the governor to fill the position according to legal qualification and residency requirements. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide who to appoint.

If there are not three candidates resident in the judicial district who are deemed qualified by the commission, the commission may consider candidates residing outside the judicial district.

Terms and Conditions

After one year in office, the new magistrate must run for a majority in the next parliamentary election in order to remain in office. In the event of retention, the incumbent will serve for a four-year term.

Nomination Committee

The nomination committee for the 8th judicial district consists of Judge Caleb Stegall as chairman who is not entitled to vote; Kevin Harris and Douglas Thompson, Abilene; Ashley Iverson, Ratshain; Darrell Miller, Dwight; Keith Henry, Junction City; Daryl Enos and Edwin Wheeler Jr., Marion; and Eric Coffman, Milford.

Comments are closed.